Northeast Florida Community Traffic Safety Team

Northeast Florida Community Traffic Safety Team. Bringing you home safely.

Welcome to Northeast Florida Community Traffic Safety Team’s new website, which was previously

Our goal is to better communicate and participate in helping reduce traffic crashes, injuries and deaths. Through education, engineering and community partnerships we can ensure safer roadways for everyone. Be a part of our traffic safety team!

Connect with us online: Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn | Pinterest | YouTube | Email

If you know of an issue on any of our roadways in the following counties listed below, please fill out the Roadway Concerns form.

Northeast Florida’s Community Traffic Safety Team serves: Madison, Hamilton, Taylor, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Gilchrist, Levy, Columbia, Baker, Union, Bradford, Alachua, Nassau, Duval, Clay, Putnam and St. Johns Counties

About Florida’s Community Traffic Safety Teams

For more than 20 years, community-based traffic safety programs have been effective in providing solutions to local crash problems. CTSPs were an outgrowth of the successful impaired driving and occupant protection programs of the 1970s and 1980s. Historically, CTSPs combined two or more traffic safety strategies to address local problems. Problems include impaired driving and infrequent use of child safety seats and safety belts. Citizen advocacy groups, law enforcement, businesses, health and education agencies, the courts and the media combined efforts. This was done by forming coalitions with elected officials and other community leaders to develop solutions to local traffic safety problems.

The first CTST in Florida formed in 1991 in Polk County specifically to address roadway issues on the Florida Avenue Corridor. Slowly the model expanded and by 1994 there were 15 CTSTs in Florida addressing community issues.

First CTST in District Two (Northeast Florida)

On April 28, 1994 the first CTST in District Two (Northeast Florida) was formed in Alachua County. The Duval Team was established. The District Two CTSP has been recognized by numerous national organizations. These include the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, AAA Auto Club South, American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators, Davis Productivity – for outstanding traffic safety programs under Andrea Atran’s direction.

Today there are 62 teams in the State of Florida. The CTSTs are made up of what is termed the four E’s: Education, Enforcement, Engineers and Emergency Medical Services. All of these disciplines add to the richness of each team and allow broad collaboration in the solving of local traffic safety concerns.