Illegal School Bus Passing Fines Doubled

Effective January 1, 2021, the penalties for failure to stop for a school bus in Florida has doubled. Motorists should always follow the law and drive carefully – especially when driving in school zones and around school buses.

The penalty for failure to stop for a school bus with its stop-arm extended and flashing red lights activated increased to $200 from $100. For a subsequent offense within a five-year period, the motorist will receive a suspended license for no less than 190 days and no more than a year.

The School Bus Safety bill also increases the fine for passing a school bus on the right-hand side, where children are loading and unloading, to $400 from the previous fine of $200. Motorists convicted of a second offense within a five-year period will lose their driver’s license for no less than one year and no more than two.

Mobile Devices Must Be Hands-Free While Driving

Reminder: The Wireless Communications While Driving Law, effective October 1, 2019 prohibits the use of a wireless communications device in a handheld manner while driving in a designated school crossing, school zone, or active work zone area. Violators commit a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable as a moving violation, that includes a base $60 fine, not including court costs or other fees, and will have 3 points assessed against the driver license.

Please help protect the children in your community and share these important traffic safety laws and school bus safety tips:

School’s Open – Drive Carefully Poster to Print and Share

Additional School Bus Safety Information and Tips

Great school bus safety resources are available online here:
Northeast Florida Traffic Safety Program – School Bus Safety
Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles – School Bus Safety